Meal Top: Seoul sweet treats

IMG_2635

Fished out the hidden mochi in the hot red bean soup :)

IMG_2637

IMG_2633

Point at the menu board to order if things get lost in translation…

IMG_2636

Everybody loves dessert, young and old :)

Summer in Seoul can be unforgiving, but it’s also the perfect time to indulge in lots of bingsu (dessert ices). My all-time fav is still pat-bingsu i.e. shaved ice topped with swirls of condensed milk and lots of crushed sweet red beans, introduced to me by my Seoul sista Heajin :)

Meal Top, at the very top of Hyundai Department Store, is reputed to be one of the most popular go-to-places for bingsu, and of course the FOMO piglet in me knew it was never a question whether I should head there before leaving Seoul hehehe.

The place is cute and spacious, very airy and bright, with menus placed atop the counter for easy reference. They were doing a brisk weekend business, but I was seated and served within 10 mins flat – man I love the uber efficient service in Seoul!

After numerous Seoul ice-capades, I decided on the hot red bean soup as it reminded me of the red bean desserts my mum used to make while growing up, anddd which I haven’t had for way too long :( The red bean soup arrived steaming hot, with lots of fragrant smells wafting from that bowl of joy. It wasn’t too sweet (yay!) and had little glutinous balls mixed with red beans which were cooked just perfectly soft. Every mouthful felt like being at home again having home-made dessert on the weekend, and it was gone before I knew it (despite a BIG BIG meal barely an hour before that oh boy…)

It’s a little steep at 7,000 KRW per bowl (you can get it for ~4,000-5,000+ KRW at other cafes), but portions here are hearty and it’s a very convenient place to drop by for a quick pick-me-up in between shopping at the gazillion shops in the complex :)

-Sulsuls

Wherefore art thou?

Meal Top (5th Floor of Hyundai Department Store, map here)
517 Teheran-ro
Gangnam-gu, Seoul

One thought on “Meal Top: Seoul sweet treats

  1. Pingback: Facts About Dessert Soup | Gourmet Foodnet

Leave a Reply

